Review: Shiver

Shiver
Maggie Stiefvater
2009
Scholastic
978-0-545-12326-6

As a young girl, Grace was attacked by wolves. She could have died, except that one wolf saved her, forcing the others to back away. Ever since then, Grace has looked out into the woods to catch a glimpse of her wolf. But this is no ordinary wolf. During the spring and summer, Sam turns human. But only for a few years, until one year he will remain a wolf forever. He and Grace fall in love instantly, but as the temperature drops, can they find a way to keep Sam human forever?

It took me a long time to get around to reading this book, but I am glad I waited, because now the third book is out and I won’t have to wait to find out what happens to Grace and Sam. At first I wasn’t sure I was going to like this book. Grace’s obsession with wolves seemed a little odd to me. But what won me over was the relationship that developed between Grace and Sam. Even though they have only just met as humans, the love between them is believable and heartbreaking because we know it can’t last. Or can it? I
look forward to reading books two and three to find out.

Leave a Reply

