Review: The Book Thief

The Book Thief
Markus Zusak
2005
Alfred A. Knopf
978-0-375-84220-7

Set in Nazi Germany during World War II, The Book Thief tells the story of an orphaned girl named Liesel who develops a love of words – to the point that she begins to steal books in order to continue her love of reading.

This was my first time reading Zusak. I had started reading this book back in the winter but got distracted when a number of holds came in from the library. I’m glad I made my way back to it, though. I was very touching and well-written. At first, the idea of Death as the narrator took some getting used to, but I think Zusak pulled it off well. I’m not normally someone who reads for language (normally I prefer  a plot with lots of action and a compelling cast of characters), but I admired the author’s ability to create beautiful images with words. I found myself really caring for the characters and anxious to know whether they would survive the war. I look forward to reading I Am The Messenger in the near future.

 

Leave a Reply

