Hello

Hello, LIS 9763!

Welcome to my blog, What the Librarian Did. I am currently on co-op in Gatineau and will be finishing my MLIS this summer. Prior to coming to library school, I worked at Harlequin as a proofreader. This blog is named after a romance novel that came out right before I left my job to go to library school. I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet, so I don’t actually know what the librarian did, but I hope it was somthing scandalous.

I am taking this course because I am interested in social media and learning how librarians can use tools such as blogs to connect with readers, particularly young adults. I read a lot of YA fiction and I am considering starting a YA blog, though I never seem to get around to it. Hopefully this blog will provide some motivation.

2 thoughts on “Hello

  1. Hi Kim,

    Just wanted to say that I would love the job of Harlequin proofreader, so I am jealous of your previous vocation. I have a friend who also did that job as a co-op for English. I guess we will be a bit overqualified for that when we are done school!

    Good luck with the course,
    Emily

    • Hi Emily,

      It was a very fun place to work. Unfortunately there are not a lot of jobs in publishing and publishing also doesn’t pay well. But it was certainly an interesting workplace full of great people and many laughs at the things we were reading.

      Kim

Leave a Reply

